The 1st trimester has been pretty painless for the most part. Aside from being sick as a dog for the first two weeks with a very awful cold, mommy has been doing pretty well.

Sure Ive had sore boobies, awful congestion, a few nosebleeds, and some pretty serious exhaustion. But I'm happy to report that I've had very little morning sickness. My only real experience with feeling nauseous has been in the evenings where I've just felt sort of queezy.
For a while there I was pretty sensitive to smells, especially at night. I had no interest in eating any kind of meat at night time and so therefore I was having to get my protein in earlier in the day. It's shocking how much protein they recommend for women who are expecting!
At first I was worried that I wasn't hunched over the toilet 24-7, but now I'm just feeling very blessed that I'm not having to go through that!
Have I had any cravings you ask?

Why yes, yes I have. You see, anyone who knows me knows that I'm much more of a salty cravings kind of girl than a sweet cravings kind of girl!
Well, during this 1st trimester, I seriously have had the worst cravings for sweets! Ice cream, little debbie cakes, oreos, cookies, you name, I've wanted it!
I justify those snacks because I normally eat them with a tall glass of milk and I tell myself that I'm getting my dairy/protein in!

Now that I'm eating for two though, I have to say that I have been more cautious of trying to get all of the food groups in! I've been eating pretty good for the most part, except for the occassional sweet treat!
Big hearty salads, fruits and veggies, dairy, lean meats, and of course pastas and whole grains! Its a challenge to get in all of those food groups, but I try my hardest! I'm also taking a great pre-natal vitamin! I've decided to take it at night instead of in the morning! For some reason that works best for me!

I feel pretty good about how I've been eating! What I'm also really enjoying is all the fresh fruits I've been eating! I love oranges so much!!!!
That's another thing I've been craving a lot lately! FRUIT! Tangerines, oranges, anything citrus!!
I've also really enjoyed anything citrus smelling! My sister got me these great citrus scented hand soaps! I just love them!
I'm happy to report that my sniffer is on overdrive! There are smells I'm loving and smells I'm hating! More on that later!!!
Oh that reminds me! I should probably talk about the things I've given up! Diet Coke and caffiene in general would be at the top of my list!

I used to drink A LOT of Diet Coke and although I realize there was nothing good about that habit, it was seriously something that I thought would be difficult to let go of!
Luckily, I've had no problem at all letting go! I've replaced my diet sodas with lots of water, and even have come to love seltzer water with a squeeze of lime or lemon! It's so refreshing!
From time to time I'll drink a sprite if we're out at a restaurant, but for the most part it's water, seltzer water, or juices! I'm not sure if I'll ever go back to diet sodas! I always knew they were awful for me, but it took getting pregnant to let them go!
As the 1st trimester comes to an end, I'm excited because I know that there are only good things to come!